WE COLLECT ON-SITE EXPERIENCE, OBSERVE PROCESSES AND RECOMMEND PROCESS OPTIMIZATION AND REORGANIZATION PLANS, WHICH WE IMPLEMENT TOGETHER.

Case Study - Processes

Logo Hopital du Jura.jpg

Hôpital du Jura

Starting Point:

While exploring the possibility of expanding, while also facing increasing operating costs, the Hôpital du Jura commissioned Muller Healthcare Consulting to examine its wards’ organization and procedures and to develop a proposal for improvements.

 

Methodology:

To understand processes, one must take part in them.

As in all our process optimization projects, we accompanied staff at the Hôpital du Jura, observing and recording their daily operations. Together with trained nursing staff, doctors and logistic specialists, we then identified confounding factors.

Muller Healthcare Consulting subsequently organised several appointments for management personnel to visit other hospitals. This was a means for the management personnel to exchange experiences with other hospital staff. In this way, staff were able to identify the best practices as well as draw conclusions for their own projects. The patient pathway was determined in interactive workshops, wherein medical, nursing and logistic processes were then developed. This methodology resulted in a completely new, patient-oriented reorganisation of the Hospitals’ procedures. Based on these procedures, we simulated optimum ward sizes and determined their operating costs. Similarly, we redefined the skill and grade mix, as well as the rotas.

hospital du Jura Prozessoptimierung FR.p

Result:

The redefined processes are consistently patient-oriented and will result in a sustainable increase in the competitiveness of the cantonal hospital. Ward sizes were expanded from the original 18 beds to 36 and various measures were defined, to reduce the length of stay. The associated cost savings were partially re-invested into quality: on Muller Healthcare Consultings’ recommendation, quality management staff will be included in future plans. The new rotas allow the removal of 12-hour shifts and split shifts, thereby increasing staff satisfaction.

AUF DEN STATIONEN ARBEITEN WIR MIT, OBSERVIEREN ABLÄUFE UND EMPFEHLEN IHNEN PROZESSOPTIMIERUNGEN UND REORGANISATIONEN, WELCHE WIR GEMEINSAM UMSETZEN.

Praxisbeispiel - Prozesse

Logo Hopital du Jura.jpg

Hôpital du Jura

Ausgangslage:

Im Hinblick auf einen möglichen Neubau sowie aufgrund zunehmenden Drucks auf die Betriebskosten, erteilte das Hôpital du Jura Muller Healthcare Consulting den Auftrag, die Prozesse und Organisation der Pflegestationen zu überprüfen und Verbesserungs-vorschläge zu entwickeln.

 

Methodik:

Prozesse verstehen, heisst mitzuarbeiten.

Wie in all unseren Prozessoptimierungsprojekten haben wir auch am Hôpital du Jura über eine Begleitung der Pflegekräfte, die täglichen Betriebsabläufe observiert und aufgenommen. Anschliessend wurden gemeinsam mit den Pflegefachkräften, Medizinern und Logistikern Störfaktoren identifiziert.

Muller Healthcare Consulting organisierte im Anschluss daran für die Kadermitarbeiter mehrere Erfahrungsaustauschbesuche in anderen Spitälern. Dabei wurden Best Practices identifiziert und Schlussfolgerungen für das eigene Projekt gezogen. In interaktiven Workshops wurde der Patientenpfad definiert und anschliessend die medizinischen, pflegerischen und logistischen Abläufe abgeleitet. Diese Methodik führte zu einer völlig neuen und patientenorientierteren Anordnung der Prozesse. Basierend auf den Prozessen wurden die optimalen Stationsgrössen simuliert und Betriebskosten abgeleitet. Ebenfalls wurden der Skill- und Grademix sowie die Dienstpläne neu definiert.

hospital du Jura Prozessoptimierung FR.p

Resultat:

Die neu definierten Prozesse sind konsequent patientenorientiert und steigern somit die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Kantonsspitals nachhaltig. Die Stationsgrösse wurde von heute 18 auf zukünftig 36 Betten ausgedehnt und diverse Massnahmen zur Reduktion der Verweildauer wurden definiert. Die damit verbundenen Kosteneinsparungen wurden zum Teil in die Qualität reinvestiert: so wurden auf Empfehlung von Muller Healthcare Consulting hin, Qualitätsmanagementbeauftragte eingeplant. Die neuen Dienstpläne ermöglichen die Abschaffung von 12-Stunden- sowie geteilten Diensten und werden somit die Mitarbeiterzufriedenheit zu steigern.